Published from Mumbai, Delhi & Bhopal

UAE to host 2nd T10 League next month

The second edition of the T10 cricket league will be held at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium here from November 21 to December 2.

The first edition was a four-day event played during December 2017 but this year’s event will have an expanded schedule. This edition of the T10 League will have over 29 matches including a round robin stage followed by the semi-finals and final in a 10-over-a-side format.

This year in August, the International Cricket Council (ICC) officially sanctioned the league along with the Emirates Cricket Board.

The league will have eight teams compared to six last year — Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons.

Former stars Virendra Sehwag, Brendon Mccullum, Shahid Afridi, Shane Watson, Shahid Afridi, Eoin Morgan, Rashid Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy and Brendon McCullum will be some of the prominent players in the tournament.

“The first edition of the T10 League in 2017 was an exciting experience of launching a completely new concept of 90 minutes cricket,” T10 League chairman Nawab Shaji Ul Mulk said in a statement.

“This year, we have shown keen interest in recruiting for crucial positions; umpires from ICC panel, Ernst and Young as external auditors, ICC Anti-Corruption Unit to handle the anti-corruption, Roshan Mahanama as head of technical committee, Wasim Akram as director of talent hunt programme,” he added.

“Also this time we have passed a regulation that players will not be invited to after parties to eliminate the chances of questionable elements approaching players in such places.”

David East, CEO of Emirates Cricket Board, said” “The innovation that the T10 management is showing for the second edition bodes well for an event to surpass the outstanding display we saw last year.”

Hindi Website