Published from Mumbai, Delhi & Bhopal

Guptill, Boult to miss New Zealand’s T20I series vs Pakistan

New Zealand will miss the services of injured opener Martin Guptill and pace spearhead Trent Boult even as all-rounder Corey Anderson and stumper Glenn Phillips were included in the 13-man Kiwi squad for the three-match T20 International series against Pakistan, starting October 31.

Anderson, who underwent a surgery on his spine in 2017, last turned out for New Zealand during the ICC Champions Trophy last year.

The all-rounder is currently leading the New Zealand A team on their tour of the United Arab Emirates to face Pakistan A, and Phillips, who is also part of that squad, will play the remaining two one-day games before linking up with the national team.

Commenting on their inclusion, New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said: “Corey and Glenn are in good form and have performed well in the local conditions over the past couple of weeks.”

“They obviously bring plenty of firepower, but their versatility will also give the squad the desired balance,” he added.

Kane Williamson will lead the Kiwis, who have Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne and Tim Southee as the experienced players, while Mark Chapman, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert and Lockie Ferguson are the relatively fresh faces.

Guptill has been ruled out of the series with a left calf strain. Also missing from the squad is Boult.

The remaining two T20Is will be played on November 2 and 4 and the series will be followed by three One-day Internationals (ODI) from November 7, the squad for which will be announced later.

New Zealand T20I Squad: Kane Williamson (Captain), Corey Anderson, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips (WK), Seth Rance, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Hindi Website