September 24, 2023

Published from Mumbai, Delhi & Bhopal

RS faces repeated adjournments over MPs’ suspension

New Delhi,  The opposition forced three adjournment of the upper house within an hour after eight Rajya Sabha members were suspended on Monday following their unruly behaviour in Parliament a day ago.

The Rajya Sabha was first adjourned till 10 a.m. When it resumed the opposition lawmakers who were suspended refused to leave the House and resorted to sloganeering laeding to a second adjournment till 10.36 a.m.

And then again at 10.38 a.m. for half an hour.

The upper house conducted its proceedings amid continued ruckus by members of opposition as Bhubaneswar Kalita assumed the Chair on fresh commencement.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu suspended eight MPs minutes after the House met. The lawmakers from Trinamool, Congress, CPM and AAP were accused of causing ruckus in Parliament on Sunday.

The motion was moved by V. Murlidharan, the MoS for Parliamentary Affairs, and the House suspended suspended Derek O’ Brien and Dola Sen of TMC, Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora, Nasir Hussain of Congress, Sanjay Singh of AAP and K.K. Ragesh and E. Kareem of CPM.

The members resorted to sloganeering after the resolution was moved by voice vote.

Earlier Chairman Naidu said that it was a sad day for democracy and “unfortunate” and “condemnable”, as he rejected a no confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narain Singh.

Hindi Website