Published from Mumbai, Delhi & Bhopal

BJP issues 1st list for MP, denies ticket to 3 ministers

The party also announced 28 candidates for Telangana and 24 for Mizoram Assembly polls following a marathon meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee late on Thursday chaired by BJP chief Amit Shah and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi among others.

Team Absolute| Bhopal

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Friday issued its first list of 177 candidates for the single-phase November 28 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections and dropped three ministers, including Urban Development Minister Maya Singh, from the list.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan would contest from his traditional Budhni Assembly constituency in Sehore district which he has been representing since 2005.

Shejwar of Sanchi Assmebly constituency has been replaced by his son Mudit Shejwar, while Harsh Singh representing Rampur-Baghelan Assembly constituency has been replaced by son Vikram Singh.

Maya Singh, who was elected from Gwalior East constituency in 2013, is the former Gwalior Deputy Mayor and was national President of BJP’s women’s wing, Bharatiya Janata Mahila Morcha.

She has been replaced by Satish Sikarwar, a party councillor from Gwalior.

The party has also shifted Women and Child Development Minister Lalita Yadav to Malhara from Chatarpur assembly constituency.

Ministers Narottam Mishra, Jayant Mallaiya and Yashodhara Raje Scindia will contest Datia, Damoh and Shivpuri seats respectively.

The names of two BJP MPs also figured on the first list. Dewas MP, Manohar Utawal will contest from Agar while Khajuraho MP Nagendra Singh will contest from Nagod.

There are 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh, where the saffron party has been in power for three consecutive terms.

Besides issuing the first list for Madhya Pradesh, the BJP also released the second list for Telangana (28) and Mizoram (24) Assembly elections. Voting to elect new Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh would take place on November 28.

Congress questions on BJP list
Priyanka Chaturvedi has asked this question during the state Congress Committee’s Office meeting. He said on the list of BJP candidates that he should tell that how many people got involved in corruption. How many accused of women’s harassment were given tickets and how many accused of the profession were made candidates. Chaturvedi said that the current MLA in BJP is apprehensive about defeat. They are not seeking tickets and they have refused to take tickets.

Former Congress MP Guddu joins BJP
In a jolt to the Congress, former MP from Madhya Pradesh Premchand Guddu on Friday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here in the presence of union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Thawarchand Gehlot.

Guddu was elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from Ujjain in 2009 but he lost the elections in 2014 against BJP’s Chintamani Malviya. Since then he was sidelined in the party.

Guddu joined the BJP as the campaigning for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls is on.

Hindi Website